Madam C.J. Walker Scholarship

Sponsored by Mary Kay

The Society of Cosmetic Chemists (SCC) Madam C.J. Walker Scholarship, generously sponsored by Mary Kay, signifies SCC’s support of under-represented minorities of any gender identity pursuing higher education in STEM (science, technology, engineering, mathematics) in disciplines related to the cosmetics and personal care industry .  The scholarship's creation in 2020 was an ongoing part of the SCC’s initiatives to support diversity, equity and inclusion in the cosmetics and personal care industry. [READ PRESS RELEASE]

Applicants for the scholarship must be an under-represented minority of any gender identity enrolled full-time in an accredited college or university in the US or Canada, and pursuing an undergraduate or graduate degree in chemical, physical, medical, pharmaceutical, biological or related sciences and technology relative to the cosmetics and personal care industry. 


A $5,000 check is presented to each awardee.  In addition to the scholarship funds, SCC provides each awardee with the following to attend the Society's Annual Scientific Meeting & Showcase: 

  • a $350 travel voucher;
  • two (2) night’s accommodations at the host hotel;
  • complimentary student poster to showcase their research;
  • complimentary full access registration; and
  • ceremonial presentation of the scholarship at the annual Awards Breakfast.

About Madam C.J. Walker

Madam C. J. Walker (born Sarah Breedlove; 1867-1919) was an American entrepreneur, philanthropist, and political and social activist. She is regarded as the first female self-made millionaire in America. Walker made her fortune by developing and marketing a line of cosmetics and hair care products for black women through the business she founded, Madam C. J. Walker Manufacturing Company. At the time of her death, she had helped create the role of the 20th Century, self-made American businesswoman; established herself as a pioneer of the modern black hair-care and cosmetics industry; and set standards in the African-American community for corporate and community giving.  Learn more at





2021 – Imani Porter (Hampton University) and Joy Rutherford (The Ohio State University)


Special Thanks to Scholarship Sponsor