Check out 200+ scientific presentation recordings in the SCC Media Library


Scientific Awards

I want information on...





Maison G. deNavarre Medal Award

The Society’s highest honor is named after our founder and is designed to recognize an individual for accomplishments in activity supporting the best interests of the cosmetic industry through technical contributions.  Patents, publications and technical presentations are to be considered.  The primary question that should be answered is: “What has this individual done for the cosmetic scientist and for the cosmetic industry?” Membership and activity in the Society can be considered, but are not requirements for the Award. 

A trophy is presented to the awardee.

Click here to complete the online nomination form.

All completed nomination forms MUST be returned by August 25, 2023.

About Maison G. deNavarre

Known to his friends as Ed, Maison G. deNavarre, is known to have his interest in cosmetic chemistry rooted in his pharmaceutical antecedents. Upon graduating high school in 1926, Ed followed his brothers’ footsteps to the College of the City of Detroit (now Wayne University), to study pharmacy. Once apprenticed in a drugstore, a law requirement for State Board examinations on graduation, Ed was at once intrigued by cosmetics & perfumes. This interest was further nourished by the fine toiletries department at the drugstore in the lobby of the Book-Cadillac Hotel where one of his brother’s was assistant manager. Whenever possible, Ed was there looking over the fascinating stock of bottles and jars.

As early as 1935, Ed had attempted to interest the technical men in the cosmetic industry to form a scientific society. He encountered a great deal of apathy, and even fear of reprisals for participation in such an effort. However, he acquired wide acquaintance and reputation in the trade, through his monthly column “Desiderata” in The American Perfumer, his book “The Chemistry and Manufacture of Cosmetics”, and his country wide consulting practice. Such factors, coupled with his energy and persistence, overcame the obstacles in 1945 when he and 11 other like-minded men founded the Society of Cosmetic Chemists, during a time when the atmosphere in the industry was full of closely guarded secrets.


The Committee shall consist of five members. The Chair is appointed by the President. The Chair shall select four additional members, three of whom are past Medal awardees. The President shall confirm the Chair’s appointees.

The Committee selects the recipient of the Maison G. deNavarre Medal Award subject to the approval of the Board of Directors.


2022 – David C. Steinberg

2021 – Randall Wickett, PhD

2020 – Howard A. Epstein, PhD

2019 – Anthony Rawlings, PhD

2018 – Anthony O’Lenick

2017 – Zoe Draelos, MD

2016 – No Award due to 29th IFSCC Congress

2015 – Clive Harding

2014 – J. Alan Swift, Ph.D.

2013 – Dr. Phillip Wertz, Ph.D.

2012 – Karl Lintner

2011 – Howard I Maibach

2010 – Yashavanth Kamath

Past Awardees in 1940s

1948 – Col. Marston T. Bogart

1949 – Ralph L. Evans









Past Awardees in 1980s

1980 – Charles Fox

1981 – Phyllis J. Carter

1982 – Leszek J. Wolfram

1983 – John J. Sciarra

1984 – John Menkart

1985 – Norman F. Estrin

1986 – Graham Barker

1987 – Albert M. Kligman

1988 – Bernard Idson

1989 – Clarence R. Robbins

Past Awardees in 1950s

1950 – Eric C. Kunz

1951 – Maison G. De Navarre

1952 – Everett G. McDonough

1953 – Emil G. Klarmann

1954 – William A. Poucher

1955 – Ernest Guenther

1956 – Florence E. Wall

1957 – John H. Draize

1958 – No Award

1959 – William S. Gump

Past Awardees in 1990s

1990 – No Award due to 16th IFSCC Congress

1991 – Miklos M. Breuer

1992 – Stig E. Friberg

1993 – Morton Pader

1994 – E. Desmond Goddard

1995 – No Award

1996 – Peter Pugliese

1997 – R. Randall Wickett

1998 – John Corbett

1999 – William C. Griffin

Past Awardees in 1960s

1960 – Robert H. Marriott

1961 – Raymond E. Reed

1962 – Paul G. Lauffer

1963 – Anthony M. Schwartz

1964 – Harold D. Gulden

1965 – Sophie L. Plechner

1966 – Sol D. Gershon

1967 – G. Robert Clark

1968 – Lester I. Conrad

1969 – Charles Zviak

Past Awardees in 2000s

2000 – Robert Y. Lochhead

2001 – T. Joseph Lin

2002 – Peter M. Elias

2003 – Lorraine Kligman

2004 – No Award due to 23rd IFSCC Congress

2005 – Paul Thau

2006 – James Akerson

2007 – Donald Orth, Ph.D.

2008 – Kevin D. Cooper, MD

2009 – Janusz Jachowicz

Past Awardees in 1970s

1970 – Samuel Zuckerman

1971 – Henry F. Maso

1972 – Sylvan H. Newburger

1973 – Sabbat J. Strianse

1974 – Martin M. Rieger

1975 – Maurray Berdick

1976 – Robert P. Giovacchini

1977 – Robert L. Goldemberg

1978 – Paul A. Sanders

1979 – Karl Laden