

Society of Cosmetic Chemists Announces 2024 Prestigious Achievement Award Winners

October 1, 2024 - New York, NY — The Society of Cosmetic Chemists (SCC) is pleased to announce the winners of these prestigious awards being presented during the Society's 78th Annual Scientific Meeting & Showcase being held December 11-13, 2024, at the JW Marriott LA Live in Los Angeles, CA.

MAISON G. deNAVARRE MEDAL AWARD: IRWIN PALEFSKY

"This year, the Society is presenting its highest honor to Irwin Palefsky, in recognition of his industry expertise and contributions to advancing cosmetic science," said Erica O'Grady, CAE, Chief Executive Officer of the Society. "We are thrilled to recognize all that he has accomplished during his exceptional career and his 55 years of membership in SCC."

This award recognizes Irwin's activities in supporting the best interests of the cosmetic industry through his various technical contributions, which include 10 patents and author in various publications and compilations, most recently in **Cosmeceuticals: Procedures in Cosmetic Dermatology Series.** He taught at the Center for Professional Advancement (a division of Cobblestone), Fairleigh Dickenson University (1980-1990) and the Fashion Institute of Technology (FIT) on Sunscreens from 2019-2023. He has trained and mentored generations of chemists at his company, Cosmetech Laboratories.

Mr. Palefsky is currently an Emeritus member and Technical Fellow (2022) of the Society. Nationally, he was instrumental in starting the Education Advisory Committee in 1986 and served as its Chair 2002-2005. Irwin was an active CEP instructor through the early 90s, spoke at various Chapter meetings, served on the Nominations Committee and Conduct & Disciplinary Task Force, and was Area I Director on the national Board (2003-2005). As a member of the New York Chapter, he helped start NY Supplier's Day, now one of the largest industry events in North America. Irwin went on to co-chair the NYSCC Spring Seminar in 1999 and was Chair of the New York Chapter in 2002.

SCC EDUCATION AWARD: PAUL LAWRENCE, PHD

award sponsored by Barnet Products

"It's our sincere pleasure to award Dr. Paul Lawrence the inaugural SCC Education Award", said Erica O'Grady, CAE, Chief Executive Officer of the Society. "Our newest award recognizes an individual making outstanding contributions to the field of cosmetic science education and mentorship, and we thank Paul for his tireless dedication and service to SCC." Dr. Lawrence has been an active member of the Society since 2017 and served as a member and Chair of the Education Advisory Committee (2020-2023). He currently serves as the Vice Chair of the Committee on Scientific Affairs and as an Associate Technical Editor for the SCC flagship publication, the *Journal of Cosmetic Science*. Paul has also been an instructor for several courses in SCC's CEP program since 2022.

Dr. Lawrence has authored over 35 scientific manuscripts, multiple online digests, and a textbook chapter on the world's most contagious animal virus. He is frequently invited to be a scientific speaker at conferences around the world. He received SCC's Shaw Mudge Award for Best Paper presented at SCC74, the SCC's Hans Schaeffer Award for Most Innovative Paper presented at SCC76, and the best technical poster at IFSCC London Congress.

Paul is an adjunct life sciences professor at Suffolk County Community College frequently teaching pre-medical and pre-nursing students, and recently became a visiting scholar at the University of Toledo developing a graduate level skin microbiome course.

FLORENCE WALL WOMEN IN COSMETIC CHEMISTRY AWARD: KRUPA KOESTLINE

award sponsored by the <u>SCC New York Chapter</u>

"We are elated to present the Society's award honoring a woman's scientific and leadership contributions in the cosmetics and personal care industry to Krupa Koestline," said Erica O'Grady, CAE, Chief Executive Officer of the Society. "Krupa is a well-respected formulation chemist, inspirational leader and mentor, and a distinguished contributor to the field of cosmetic science."

Krupa Koestline embodies the spirit of innovation by consistently asking hard questions and exploring new technologies. Her relentless pursuit of excellence is matched by her dedication and hard work, always going above and beyond for peers, clients, and colleagues. She is deeply committed to ensuring that young chemists have the tools and knowledge they need to succeed through her mentorship and leadership in cosmetic science. In addition to her business acumen and leadership, Krupa has served the SCC Florida Chapter as Secretary (2020-2022), Chair-Elect (2024-2025), and will serve as Chair in 2026-2027. Nationally, she served as a member of the Achievement Awards Task Force (2021), currently serves as a member of COSA (2023-2024) and as Vice Chair of the Diversity & Inclusion Insights Committee (2024).

MERIT AWARD: CATHY ANGLIN

"Cathy Anglin has been an outstanding advocate for SCC during the course of her nearly 40 year membership in SCC," said Erica O'Grady, CAE, Chief Executive Officer of the Society. "On behalf of the national organization and the Southeast Chapter, we thank Cathy for her unwavering passion and service." During her membership, she has served on the SCC Constitution and Bylaws Committee, Committee on Chapter Affairs, the Nominations and Elections Committee, and as an Area IV Director. An engaged and active member since day 1, Cathy has also served the Southeast Chapter in its elected roles from Secretary to Chair various times throughout the years, and currently serves as their Newsletter Editor.

Cathy retired in early 2022 from her position as Research Director at J. Strickland & Co. and still consults for them on quality and regulatory issues.

ROBERT A. KRAMER LIFETIME SERVICE AWARD: R. RANDALL WICKETT, PHD

"Dr. R. Randall Wickett continues to be an outstanding advocate for SCC and an active volunteer locally and nationally", said Erica O'Grady, CAE, Chief Executive Officer of the Society. "For his contributions throughout his 40 years of membership, we recognize Randy with this award with our thanks for his dedication and service to SCC." Dr. Wickett has been an active member of the Society since 1984. He served on the National Board of Directors culminating in his Presidency of SCC in 2011; lead the *Journal of the Society of Cosmetic Chemists* as Editor-in-Chief

for 7 years (1990-1997); participated in more than 10 national committees; and continues to serve as a sought-after CEP instructor.

His dedicated service also extends to the Ohio Valley Chapter of SCC and to his students at the University of Cincinnati where he continues to teach and mentor. Dr. Wickett is a past recipient of the SCC's Maison G. deNavarre Award (1997 & 2021), Merit Award (2007), Shaw Mudge Award (1983), Joseph P. Ciaudelli Award (1997), Howard Isermann Award (1992-1997), and was also conferred the SCC Technical Fellow designation in 2009.

See these outstanding individuals accept their awards – register for the SCC 78th Annual Scientific Meeting & Showcase, December 11-13, 2024, in Los Angeles at <u>http://www.scconline.org/SCC78</u>

About SCC

Founded in 1945 and celebrating the delivery of nearly 80 years of cosmetic science education, the SCC is the oldest and largest non-profit membership organization serving the industry. Dedicated to the advancement of cosmetic science, SCC headquarters provides unparalleled education, resources, and networking for more than 5,000 members globally and via 19 chapters across Greater North America. Visit <u>www.scconline.org</u> for more information.

###