

Contact: Erica O'Grady, Chief Executive Officer eogrady@scconline.org; 212-668-1500

Society of Cosmetic Chemists' 76th Annual Meeting Draws More Than 800 to Los Angeles

New York, NY — The Society of Cosmetic Chemists (SCC) recently held its 76th Annual Scientific Meeting & Showcase December 12-14, 2022, in Los Angeles, CA at the JW Marriott LA Live, drawing more than 800 cosmetics and personal care industry attendees for 2 ½ days of education, exhibits, awards, and networking.

"It is so gratifying to see the growth and excitement around our event, especially since this was our first full-scale annual meeting post-pandemic – and our inaugural West Coast venture," said Erica L. O'Grady, CAE, SCC's Chief Executive Officer. "The technical programs delivered by industry experts, coupled with the exhibitor showcase, continue to educate, inform, and inspire attendees with the innovations at the forefront of cosmetic science," she added.

The meeting featured 3 outstanding keynotes, 8 technical sessions with more than 35 speakers, and 100+ exhibits and posters covering a variety of the hottest topic areas in cosmetic science including artificial intelligence, bio-actives, the future of beauty, diversity in beauty, modern formulation techniques, color cosmetic trends, fragrance, sensory, sunscreen design, hair care and skin care innovations, sustainability, and claims/regulatory issues.

In addition to the outstanding education program, the Society installed the Board of Directors, led by 2023 President Mark Chandler (ACT Solutions Corp.), and presented various achievement and scientific contribution awards during the meeting, including:

Frontiers of Science Keynote Lecture Award: Paul Alan Cox PhD of Brain Chemistry Labs, for his lecture, "Exploring Remote Islands for Bioactive Molecules." (Sponsored by SCC.)

Henry Maso Keynote Lecture Award: Katherine Oglesby of Nuritas, for her lecture, "Artificial Intelligence: What it is and How it is Revolutionizing Cosmetic Active Discovery and Commercialization." (Sponsored by The Maso family and Siltech.)

Society of Cosmetic Chemists Award: Anna Howe, Evonik Corporation, for the SCC75 presentation, "Bottle Your Sustainability Goals – Minimize Your Environmental and VOC Footprint in Sun Care Products." (Sponsored by Hallstar.)

Joseph P. Ciaudelli Award: Evelyne Maes PhD, Jolon M. Dyer PhD, Santanu Deb-Choudhury PhD, and Stefan Clerens PhD of Ag Research, for the Journal of Cosmetic Science, Volume 72 Special Edition, Nov/Dec 2021 article, "Mapping Protein Cross-Links in Human Hair via Mass Spectrometry." Sponsored by Croda.

Allan and Jeanette Black Award: Amy Ethier PhD, BASF Corporation, for the SCC75 presentation, "Evaluating the Environmental Impact of Natural and Synthetic Mica Through Life Cycle Assessment." (Sponsored by Presperse.)

Young Scientist Award: Maliha Naqvi Syed PhD, Avlon Industries, for the SCC75 presentation, "Curly Hair: Structure, Properties & Care." (Sponsored by Surfatech.)

Des Goddard Award: Brittany Pease, Inolex Corporation, for the SCC75 presentation, "Bridging Personal Care and Environmental Care: A Holistic Approach to Formulation Development in the Post-COVID-19 Era." (Sponsored by SCC.)

Hans Schaeffer Award: Daphne Benderly PhD, Presperse Corporation, for the SCC75 presentation, "Screening of Personal Care Ingredients for Potential in Immediate Wrinkle Blurring." (Sponsored by SCC.)

Shaw Mudge Award: Kate Beers PhD, National Institute of Standards Technology (NIST), for the SCC75 presentation, "Soft Matter Circular Economy." (Sponsored by The Grant Mudge Trust.)

Maison G. deNavarre Medal Award: David C. Steinberg, SCC Technical Fellow, was recognized for his numerous accomplishments in his decades-long activities and technical contributions supporting the best interests of the cosmetics industry. (*Sponsored by SCC.*)

Florence Wall Women in Cosmetic Chemistry Award: Mindy S. Goldstein PhD, SCC Technical Fellow, was recognized for her significant accomplishments in cosmetic chemistry through her technical contributions, leadership skills, and business excellence. (*Sponsored by Rodan + Fields.*)

SCC Merit Award: Bartley D. Maxon, SCC Technical Fellow, was recognized for his outstanding service and distinguished leadership, contributions, achievements, and service to the Society on a National level. (Sponsored by SCC.)

Madam CJ Walker Scholarship Awards: Congratulated by A'Lelia Bundles, Madam CJ Walker's great-great-granddaughter, 2022 winners (Collette Gordon, MIT; Carolina Aguilera-Barazza, Northwestern) and finalists (Victoria Humphrey, PhD, Harvard Combined Dermatology; Micaela Reyes, CUNY) were also recognized.

About SCC

Having celebrated its 75th Anniversary in 2020, the SCC is the oldest and largest non-profit individual membership organization serving the cosmetics and personal care industry. SCC HQ provides unparalleled education, resources, and networking for nearly 6,000 members globally and via its 19 affiliated chapters across Greater North America. Visit www.scconline.org for more information.